MENU

Sections

Geopolitics Developing · Missile and drone attacks on Saudi airports and oil sites, US diplomatic drawdown, and rising oil prices

Oil rises after attacks on Saudi airport and oilfield; US orders some diplomats out

Brent crude reaches $110.11 a barrel after strikes on a Dammam airport and the Shaybah oilfield, as Washington orders some staff and families to leave its Saudi missions.

Level 4 · Deep dive 22 Oct 2026 25 reports compared 0 of 14 claims held up · 5 contested 15 knock-on changes traced
Image: The Hindu

In 30 seconds

  • Attacks hit a Saudi airport and oilfield on 21 October; reports say three or four died.
  • Brent crude rose to $110.11 a barrel as the US told some diplomats to leave Saudi Arabia.
  • Disputed: who fired, the exact toll, and whether more embassies will send families home.

Why it matters

The attacks killed civilians and hit airports and an oil site, and pushed the US to send some diplomats and their families home.

Who it reaches

  • Transport & Travel
  • Foreign Affairs
  • Consumers & Prices
  • Energy & Environment
  • Defence & Security
  • Companies & Business
See how, step by step ↓
$110.11 a barrel Brent crude price on 22 October
2 killed, 8 hurt Toll at Dammam's King Fahd airport, per Saudi aviation
Shaybah oilfield Site where air defences downed a drone; oil work unaffected
3 or 4, disputed Deaths reported across the 21 October attacks

What it sets off

Who made the decision, why they say they did it, and every change it leads to for real people, step by step. Each step says how we know it. Tap any card for the reasoning and the source.

12 changes, up to 3 steps out · 10 bad · 2 good for those affectedReachesConsumers & PricesEnergy & EnvironmentTransport & TravelForeign AffairsDefence & SecurityCompanies & Business
2026-10-22Houthis struck a Saudi airport and oil field, killing at least threeWhy, in their words: retaliating for a Saudi blockade of ports and airports in their territory and a strike on Sanaa airport (Houthi spokesman Yahya Saree)Others say: Iranian-backed forces are striking civilian airports and oil sites, and this must be answered and staff protected (Saudi Arabia & United States)

Green edge: good for those affected; red: bad; grey: mixed. Reported and Expert view steps come from a named source; Our reasoning steps are not stated anywhere and follow through the mechanism shown, so we are less sure of them. Bars show how sure we are, and that falls with every step. How we reason

The argument

Saudi Arabia & United States

They say Iranian-backed forces are striking civilian airports and oil sites, and that this must be answered and staff protected.

  • They say the Dammam airport strike killed a Saudi national and an Indian resident and wounded eight people.
  • They say Saudi air defences intercepted the drone aimed at Shaybah, and that oil operations there were not affected.
  • A State Department spokesman said Iranian-supported Houthis have increasingly attacked civilian airports and critical infrastructure, causing civilian casualties.
  • The State Department ordered non-emergency government employees and their families to leave US missions in Saudi Arabia.
Houthis & Iran

They say their attacks answer a Saudi blockade and strikes on Yemen, that Iran arms nobody, and that US pressure rules out talks.

  • A Houthi spokesman vowed to keep fighting until what he called the aggression stops and the siege on his people is lifted.
  • They say they are retaliating for a Saudi blockade of ports and airports in their territory and a strike on Sanaa airport.
  • Their spokesman Yahya Saree claimed a strike on the Shaybah oilfield in which he said facilities were set ablaze.
  • Iran denies giving weapons and training to the Houthis, says it is deeply concerned by the escalation, and calls for dialogue.
  • Iran's president said the US cannot expect dialogue while blockading and threatening Iran.
Where they splitThe two sides disagree on whether the strikes were attacks on civilian sites or retaliation for a Saudi blockade of Yemen.
Common groundTwo people, a Saudi national and an Indian resident, died and eight were wounded in the 21 October strike on Dammam's King Fahd International Airport. Two people died when Saudi air defences downed a drone at the Shaybah oilfield, and oil operations were not affected. Brent crude rose about 1.2% to roughly $110.11 a barrel on 22 October.
  1. 2022 A temporary ceasefire in Yemen is brokered, later described as a four-year informal truce.
  2. Jul 2025 The Houthis announce a maritime embargo against Saudi Arabia, and the informal truce begins to unravel.
  3. 10 Oct A missile attack hits Riyadh's King Khalid International Airport; reports say at least 12 or 13 people died.
  4. 11 Oct A separate projectile strike on the same Riyadh airport kills one person and injures 11, Saudi Arabia reports.
  5. 21 Oct A strike on King Fahd International Airport in Dammam kills two people and wounds eight, per Saudi Arabia's aviation authority.
  6. 21 Oct Saudi air defences down a drone aimed at the Shaybah oilfield; two people are killed by debris, and oil operations are unaffected.
  7. 21 Oct The US embassy in Riyadh issues a security alert about possible further Houthi attacks.
  8. 22 Oct The US State Department orders non-emergency government employees and their families to leave its missions in Saudi Arabia.
  9. 22 Oct Brent crude rises about 1.2% to roughly $110.11 a barrel, and WTI gains about 1% to $98.12.
  10. 22 Oct Reports say US and Israeli militaries have plans for new strikes on Iran after the US midterm elections; Trump has not approved them.

What we checked

0 held up · 5 contested · 9 open or from one source

DisputedThe death toll from the Dammam airport attack is disputed: some reports say two killed, others say one killed and eight wounded.The Hindu and CNBC report at least one killed and eight wounded; BBC says one died; Al Jazeera and The National say two killed.
DisputedThe number of people killed in strikes across Saudi Arabia is disputed, with reports of three or four deaths.The National says four killed in two Houthi attacks on Wednesday; BBC says three killed in strikes across Saudi Arabia.
DisputedState Department spokesman Tommy Pigott said the ordered departure applies only to Saudi Arabia and denied it was extended to diplomatic families in the wider region.Pigott's statement that the ordered departure applied only to Saudi Arabia is well documented by multiple established outlets (The Tribune, New Indian Express, The Guardian). However, the claim that this settles the matter is contradicted by reporting that families were also ordered to leave the UAE, Jordan, Qatar and Bahrain (AFP diplomatic source, cited by New Indian Express and The Guardian), which aligns with the Reuters officials' account. The evidence thus shows a genuine conflict between the official denial and other credible reporting, and cannot fully settle which account is accurate.
DisputedThe Houthis announced a maritime embargo against Saudi Arabia in July, ending a four-year informal ceasefire.The claim is only partially supported: BBC News reports that in July the Houthis announced a "maritime embargo" against Saudi Arabia and that a four-year informal ceasefire began to unravel, but it describes the truce as unraveling rather than definitively ended. A primary congressional source confirms renewed Houthi attacks in July 2025 but does not mention a Saudi maritime embargo or the end of a four-year ceasefire, so the evidence does not fully settle the claim as stated.
DisputedThe civil aviation authority reported that a separate attack on King Khalid International Airport on October 10 killed 12 people and injured more than 300.Credible sources conflict on the toll and dating of the Riyadh airport attack. BBC reports local authorities and the Saudi civil aviation authority said at least 12 were killed and 309 injured, while The Guardian reports the deadly missile strike killed 13 and injured more than 300, and attributes the one-death, 11-injury toll to a separate Sunday projectile strike. The evidence does not settle whether the 12-death figure or the 13-death figure is correct.
Single sourceDefense Secretary Pete Hegseth met Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu in an unannounced visit to Israel this week to discuss potential new strikes on Iran.
Single sourceExplosions were heard in Sirik in southern Iran on October 21, 2026, with the nature and origin unknown, Iranian media reported.
Single sourceIran's Foreign Minister Abbas Araqchi told the Financial Times that Iran was fully prepared to defend itself.
The full story8 questions answered

On 21 October a strike on Dammam's King Fahd International Airport killed two people and wounded eight, Saudi Arabia's aviation authority said. The same day Saudi air defences downed a drone aimed at Saudi Aramco's Shaybah oilfield; falling debris killed two people, and oil operations were not affected. On 22 October the US State Department ordered non-emergency staff and family members to leave its missions in Saudi Arabia, and Brent crude rose about 1.2% to $110.11 a barrel. A State Department spokesman said the order covered only Saudi Arabia, but US officials told Reuters families would also leave other regional missions; this is disputed. Houthi claims of responsibility are reported, but Saudi authorities have not publicly named who carried out the Dammam or Shaybah attacks. Brent crude was about $110.11 a barrel and WTI about $98.12 on 22 October. The State Department says the ordered departure applies only to Saudi Arabia; reports of a wider Gulf pullout are disputed. Saudi Arabia's energy minister has promised a serious response to the attacks. The US and Israeli militaries have plans for new strikes on Iran after the US midterm elections, but President Trump has not approved them.

How many people died in the 21 October attacks, and why do reports differ?

One outlet's tally counts four deaths: two at Shaybah and two at the Dammam airport; other reports gave three or four.

Did the Houthis claim the Dammam and Shaybah attacks?

Reports differ on a Houthi claim, and Saudi officials have not named anyone behind either attack.

Did US diplomats' families also leave other countries in the region?

A spokesman said the order covered only Saudi Arabia; a diplomatic source told AFP families also left four other Gulf states.

Have the US and Israel planned new strikes on Iran?

Haaretz, citing the New York Times, reports plans for strikes on Iran after the US midterms; Trump has not approved them.

What do the Houthis want, and how have Saudi Arabia and Iran responded?

The Houthis say they fight until Yemen's siege ends; Saudi Arabia vows a serious response and Iran denies arming the Houthis.

Did Houthi spokesman Yahya Saree claim the Dammam and Shaybah attacks?

He claimed a strike on Shaybah; Dammam strike reports do not name him, and his airport claim was for Riyadh.

Did the Houthis formally end the four-year ceasefire with Saudi Arabia?

No formal announcement is reported; the truce began to unravel in July when the Houthis announced a maritime embargo.

How many died at Riyadh's King Khalid International Airport in October?

Reports conflict: the BBC said at least 12 died and 309 were hurt, while The Guardian said 13 died.

Still unknown6
  • What was the actual effect on Saudi oil production, exports and Aramco operations, and what did the energy ministry say about damage?
  • How much of the 22 October oil price move came from the attacks, rather than the larger-than-expected drop in US crude stocks, and how big was that drop?
  • What caused the explosions heard in Sirik, southern Iran, on 21 October, and what did the resumed US-mediated Russia–Ukraine talks produce?
  • Did the State Department order family members out of missions in the UAE, Jordan, Qatar or Bahrain?
  • What forensic or intelligence evidence, such as drone debris or launch trajectory, links the Shaybah drone to the Houthis?
  • Did the State Department issue ordered departures for family members at missions in the UAE, Jordan, Qatar, or Bahrain, as the AFP diplomatic source reported?
Who reported it25 reports

Background from Wikipedia: Saudi Arabia, Saudi Arabia–United States relations

People and photos10 names
Image: Al Jazeera
Image: The National
Image: BBC News
Image: CNBC
Terms explained8
Brent crude
A benchmark oil price from the North Sea, used to price much of the world's oil.
WTI
West Texas Intermediate, the main benchmark price for US oil.
Houthis
An armed movement in Yemen, backed by Iran, fighting a Saudi-led coalition.
air defences
Military systems that try to spot and shoot down missiles and drones.
ordered departure
A US State Department instruction that certain staff must leave a diplomatic post.
non-emergency staff
Embassy employees not needed in a crisis, who can be sent home.
midterm elections
US national elections held halfway through a president's four-year term.
barrel
A unit for measuring oil, about 159 litres.
How we made this

We read 27 sources, checked 14 claims and answered 8 questions. Every underlined line links to what it rests on. Impact steps marked "Our reasoning" are not stated by any source; see how we reason.

Where this came from